Whitehorse High School
  • Share/Bookmark

Parents (School Community Council)

We value your partnership as a child's first teachers are his/her parent(s) or guardian(s). As we work together, learning improves. Parents are welcome to visit the school and to observe in classrooms; please check-in at the Front Office first. Parents are also encouraged to volunteer, but must submit an official Background Check prior to having substantial contact with young people. 

The School Community Council (SCC) works to improve the learning environment (academic and behavior) for all young people by providing input to financial decisions, school improvement plans, and making further suggestions to the school administration. The SCC meets the first Wednesday of each month at 5 pm and the meetings are open to the public. We invite interested parents to serve on the SCC and hold elections in August of each year. Parents serving on the SCC directly influence how Trustland funds are spent and in SY18, we received over $70,000. Here is the proposed meeting schedule for 2018-2019:

September 5

October 3

November 1

December 5

January 9

February 6

March 6

April 3

May 1

Email / call / visit one of the SCC Officers in order to get on the agenda:

SCC Chair: Earl Ahtsosie: ahtsosie@rocketmail.com
SCC Vice-Chair: Marion Filfred: mjcfilfred@yahoo.com
SCC Secretary: Tina Lansing: trlansing@live.com
SCC Member: Ryan Benn: buzzbn@yahoo.com
SCC Member: Thomasina Holly: thomasina.holly@bie.edu
SCC Member: Marilynn John: marilynn.john@yahoo.com
Principal: Kim Schaefer: kschaefer@sjsd.org
WHS Staff: Georgiana Simpson: gsimpson@sjsd.org
WHS Staff: Derek Begay: dbegay1@sjsd.org

The JOM parent meeting follows the SCC, generally about 6 pm; we are currently looking for a volunteer to represent WHS to the district JOM / IEC. 

 

Title I Parent-School Compact

Title I Parent Involvement Policy

Trust Lands Final Report (SY18)

Trust Lands Plan (SY19)

NOTE: If you are not seeing something on this page, please check in Organizational Information or Forms; thanks!